Gears Esports logo

Gears 5 Esports Gridiron Event

Two players face off in black and white. The title says 'Gears 5 Esports Gridiron'

In celebration of the new PvP mode ‘Gridiron’, Gears Esports will be launching global Gridiron Ladders on play.gears.gg and hosting a special online open tournament with exclusive skins and prize money on the line!

 

GENERAL

 

STREAM & STREAM REWARDS

EU
EU Gridiron Semis and finals bracket
NA/LATAM
NA/LATAM Gridiron Semis and finals bracket
STREAM REWARDS
Watch & Win asset featuring Stained and Wyvern weapon skins.

The Stained skins will be claimable through Quests at live.gearsofwar.com.

The Wyvern Snub will be added manually after April 28th.

 

GUIDES

 

LADDERS

FORMAT
  • All matches to be played best of 3
  • Ladders are open to ALL players (PC/Console) as of April 17th
  • Lobby Settings:
    • Fill with Bots: Off
    • Bot Difficulty: Beginner
    • Round Time Limit: 2 Minutes
    • DBNO Time: 15
    • Friendly Fire: On
    • Gameplay Tuning: Assist Disabled
  • Map Picks/Bans
    The higher seeded Team will choose to act as Team A or Team B
    • Team A bans 1 Map
    • Team B bans 1 Map
    • Team B picks Map 1
    • Team A picks Faction for Map 1
    • Team A picks Map 2
    • Team B picks faction for Map 2
    • Team A bans 1 Map
    • Team B bans 1 Map
    • Remaining Map becomes Map 3
    • Team A picks faction for Map 3
  • Map Rotation*
MapOverrides/Weapon Substitutions
Asylum
Allfathers ArenaForce Overide to Honor, Humility, Diligence
BunkerRL-4 Salvo => Dropshot, Lancer GL => Torque Bow
CanalsTalon => Boltok
DistrictEnforcer => Markza, Buzzkill => Frags, Retro Lancer => Incendiary Grenades, Longshot => Dropshot
Icebound
VasgarLancer GL => Dropshot, Hammerburst => Shock Grenades, Claw => Longshot, Retro Lancer => Torque Bow

Click here to learn how to substitute weapons and force versions of Allfathers Arena in-game.

* Map Rotation is subject to change each week

 

PLAY TO EARN SKINS

Play at least one match (win or lose) on the Ladders any time during the following time periods to earn the respective skins:

DurationBeforeSkin Earned
April 6 – 12Sun, Apr 12, 11:50 PM UTC/ 4:59 PM PT/6:59 PM CT/7:59 PM ET/12:59 AM BST (Mon)Stained Boomshot*
April 13 – 19Sun, Apr 19, 11:50 PM UTC/ 4:59 PM PT/6:59 PM CT/7:59 PM ET/12:59 AM BST (Mon)Stained Longshot*
April 20 – 26Sun, Apr 26, 11:50 PM UTC/ 4:59 PM PT/6:59 PM CT/7:59 PM ET/12:59 AM BST (Mon)Stained Dropshot*
Play at least one match anytime Apr 6 – 26Sun, Apr 26, 11:50 PM UTC/ 4:59 PM PT/6:59 PM CT/7:59 PM ET/12:59 AM BST (Mon)Wyvern Lancer**

*Please note that the Stained skins will be entitled on Tuesdays after each week

**Please note that the Wyvern Lancer will only be entitled after April 28th 2020

A picture of the Wyvern Lancer skin

 

ONLINE TOURNAMENT

FORMAT

 

KEY DATES
EventDate
Registration BeginsMon, Apr 6 – Open now!
Registration EndsThur, Apr 16 at 11:59 PM PT/1:59 AM CT (Fri)/2:59 AM ET (Fri)/7:59 AM BST (Fri)
Regional TournamentsSat, Apr 18 at 11 AM in your regional timezone (PT for NA/LATAM, UTC for EU, AEST for APAC, and BRT for SA)
Semi-finals & FinalsWed, Apr 22 at TBD time (Regional Timezone)

 

PRIZE POOL
NA & LATAM

Total – USD $25,000
1st – USD $10,000
2nd – USD $5,000
3rd/4th – USD $2,500
5th/8th – USD $1,250

EU

Total – USD $10,000
1st – USD $4,000
2nd – USD $2,000
3rd/4th – USD $1,000
5th/8th – USD $500

SA

Total – USD $5,000
1st – USD $2,000
2nd – USD $1,000
3rd/4th – USD $500
5th/8th – USD $250

APAC

Total – USD $5,000
1st – USD $2,000
2nd – USD $1,000
3rd/4th – USD $500
5th/8th – USD $250

 

HOW TO

  • Register:
    • Go to play.gears.gg, press “Login” and then register with the same Xbox Live account you use to play on. Make sure you register with an active email you check regularly!
    • Create a Team by pressing the little icon in the top right corner, selecting ‘My Teams’ and then ‘Create’, or join a Team by using the Invitation link provided by your team’s captain.
      • Don’t have a team or need more plays to round out your roster? Check out the Team/Free Agent Finder on the platform by going to the ‘Teams’ tab.
    • Once your roster is set, go to the Events tab and register for your region’s Ladder and/or Online Tournament (OLT)
  • Compete (Ladder):
    • Once registered for your region’s ladder, choose ‘Schedule Match’ and pick a timeslot or select from available matches.
    • After your match is set, use the Online Platform’s Match Lobby to complete your map picks/bans and identify hosts.
    • Make sure you grab screenshots and/or video with the match results and then input the results onto the play.gears.gg page.
  • Compete (OLT):
    • On Saturday, April 18th go to the Events tab and select your region’s Online Tournament, otherwise click the little icon in the top right corner and select ‘My Competitions’.
    • Once on the page for your region’s tournament, click the blue ‘My Team’ button in the top right corner.
    • Select your match, which will give you/your team’s manager access to the Online Platform’s Match Lobby to complete your map picks/bans and identify hosts.
    • Make sure you grab screenshots and/or video with the match results and then input the results onto the play.gears.gg page.

Showing 7 of 21